

Minutes of the ARK Annual General Meeting 7 pm 24 November 2014

Attendees from Committee

Richard Clarke
Dr Geoffrey Findlay (GF) (Chairman)
Don Harris
Charlotte Hitchmough (CH) (Director)
Martin Gibson

John Lawson Sean Dempster Sir Nigel Thompson (President) Rodney Owen-Jones Linda Nemeth

Welcome

Geoffrey Findlay welcomed members and the guest speakers.

Chairman's Report

The Chairman shared some of the highlights of the year before passing over to Charlotte for a full Director's Report of the activities of ARK.

Director's Report

Charlotte Hitchmough summarised the year's work, which was reviewed in the 2015 Annual Report.

There followed a series of presentations:

Simon Cooper

Life of a Chalkstream (Author)

Hugh Pihlens

Pillboxes of the Kennet Valley (Local Historian)

Craig Rance

Fat bergs – the menace lurking in our sewers (Thames Water)

Graham Scholey

The River Kennet - National River Prize Finalists 2015 (Environment Agency)

Simon Hughes

Reducing abstraction – progress on the Swindon pipeline

(Thames Water)

Harry Forbes

Riverfly monitoring

(ARK)

These documents are all available on the ARK website: http://www.riverkennet.org/event/events-introduction

Apologies

Robin Lalonde, Roger and Pauline Smith, Barry and Janet Heirons, Juliet Bonser, Dave Brotheridge, Kevin Light, Tony Reader, Rosalind Allen, Martin Harrison.

Minutes of the meeting held on 24th November 2014

The minutes were accepted as a correct record. Proposed by Martin Gibson, seconded Bryan Castle

Treasurer's Report

The accounts to March 2015 were in the Annual Report, available at the meeting, and had been approved by the Trustees. The accounts were healthy with reserves in excess of one year's operating costs.

The accounts were accepted. Proposed by Nigel Thompson, seconded Alexander Kirk-Wilson

Election of Honorary Officers

Geoffrey Findlay was re-elected as Chairman and as a Trustee. Proposed by Sir Nigel Thompson, seconded by Bryan Castle.

The existing members of the Executive Committee were re-elected. Proposed by Anna Harrison, seconded by Alexander Kirk-Wilson: Richard Clarke, James Dallas, Sean Dempster, Martin Gibson, Don Harris, Charlotte Hitchmough, Kevin Light, John Lawson, Peter Marren, Dr Rodney Owen-Jones, Sir Nigel Thompson.

Prize Giving

Bruce Hayllar won "Volunteer of the Year" and was presented with a glass bowl engraved with an otter by Anna Forbes, Volunteer Co-ordinator. The raffle was drawn and prizes collected.

The Chairman thanked everyone for attending the meeting, and invited them to share some refreshments and chat further with guests and Committee members.

The meeting closed at 9.24 pm

Linda Nemeth 4th December 2015